top of page
  • Writer's pictureSara Maria Prats Luna

Kisses and Croissants Book Review



Hello Everyone!

Back in December, I read one of my current favorite books. Since February is the month of Love, it's a perfect time to talk about this book.


The Plot

During this book, we follow 17-year-old dancer Mia as she goes to a summer intensive program in Paris. And of course, she meets a boy, Louis. This was actually recommended to me by a friend a long time ago and was on my Books to-read list for months.

If you are a reader you know that feeling you get when reading a cute romance. I still feel bad for my invisible cameraman having to listen to me reading.


The Aesthetic


The Ballet

I am a dancer and find that many interpretations of dance in the media are far from the truth. Plus everything is ballet or hip hop, like what about lyrical dancers or tap dancers??? And I’m not talking about musicals. That’s a whole other conversation.


The way dance is described here isn’t only realistic but also shows life outside of dance. Time and time again a character's only personality trait is dance, and only has dance friends. I don’t only dance, I have a social life and hobbies like any normal human.


Did I mention Louis is a painter? This guy painted a picture of Mia as the Black Swan on a wall, showed it to her, AND said 'I love you' to her there. Technically he said it in french: 'je t'aime,Mia'


Romance

I have to admit I was skeptical about Louis at first. Then something happened, no spoilers. When it comes to romance in books anything that can give the butterflies the character gets I will love. 70% of the time Mia and Louis were together I got butterflies, no surprise there. I feel like I don't have to say anything else I mean; PARIS ROMANCE. Need I say more.


I haven't liked a romance this much in some time. Not counting Percy Jackson and- I'm getting off-topic here.


Rating

I will give this book ⭐⭐⭐⭐(4)/5 stars, probably one of my favorite reads last year. Overall I really loved this book and am patiently waiting for a sequel. (very unlikely but a girl can dream)



Just a thought: If there was a french version of Señorita by Camila Cabello and Shawn Mendes it would be Mia and Louis’ song, just like Paris is Percy and Annabeth's. Again Just a Thought


I hope you Enjoyed it!

Bye!

- Sara Maria


Cover Image made in Canva.com

Image Credits:


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page